top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather Pike

Tuesdays are for butter




I can't believe that I missed the last two Tuesdays!

Today I want to talk about my favorite butter so far. Mango butter 🤩


I use Mango butter in almost all of my solid lotion bars. It gives them such an amazing feel and is awesome on my skin.


This time I am using WebMd for a good amount of the info as I know there are many great properties to discuss.


Mango butter is a fat that originates from mango seeds. Mango butter melts when it touches the skin, and absorbs into the skin quickly, making it ideal in lotion.


Mango is a rich source of antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals. Just 100 grams of mango contains most of your daily recommended dose of Vitamin C. It is also a great source of Vitamin E, Vitamin A, folates, and copper. Just like with the other butters I have talked about, don't eat my lotion bars! Your skin will appreciate the lotion much more than your stomach will!


It is good for most skin types, but like any butter that is high in fat, it could clog pores if you already have oily skin that you fight with.


While not shown to cause allergic reactions as a tree nut, Shea nut is a considered a true nut and therefore has to have the same nut allergen note that all nuts have. That is another reason why I have decided to go with Mango butter for most of my lotions.


Also just like the other butters we have talked about, Mango butter comes unrefined and refined. When the seeds are first pressed to expel the oils, if they are left "natural", that is called unrefined. All the properties that started out in that seed are basically still there. The refining process removes any impurities that are in the butter and allow for a longer shelf life. In mass-production settings, that is a favorable attribute. My preference, even though it will have a shorter shelf life is still going to be to go with unrefined and organic where possible. I want to have a lotion that offers my skin as much of the benefits of the butter as possible.


I hope you enjoyed this talk about Mango butter. If you have found anything incorrect or would like more info, please reach out to me @ grandmaheatherssoaps@gmail.com


Enjoy!

Heather




5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page