top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather Pike

Tuesday butter talk




I'm totally unprepared for butter talk tonight! Today was a super busy day worked a bit over 8 hours for my day job, watched a mostly dead tree get taken down in our yard and then made some cute soaps from some new flower molds I got. Then I tried a new recipe for shower soothers. Fingers crossed that they are awesome. Then the normal dishes and such...


I don't have any pictures to share of anything made from Kokum butter since I haven't tried it yet, but here is a picture of the some of the soaps I made tonight.


I've already talked about my favorite butters so far, Mango and Cupuaçu, so tonight I'll talk just a little about Kokum butter. I have not really looked into this one yet, but it seems really popular.


Kokum butter is an ingredient that is used widely in India, in food and also in skincare and as medicine. It has vitamins A, D, E and K, some iron, phosphorus and calcium.

It is a great moisturizer that is high in Omega's.

There are so many different ways that it is used, I'm only going to list some of them! What I found is that it can be used as a moisturizer/conditioner, for skin and hair, it's supposed to be good for any skin type, be it dry, oily, sensitive or aging. Good for acne? That seems weird, doesn't it? But apparently, it has antioxidants that help with acne. Who would have thought to use a butter to help acne?! Dandruff control, stimulant for hair growth. Just a few of the uses I found on the interwebs.

I wonder how many of those claims have been tested.

I personally have not tested Kokum butter yet, but will likely give it a try on my solid lotion bars and maybe soap some day. We'll see how it does.


Sounds like a good one to try out.


I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about Kokum butter.


Have a great day and wonderful week!





6 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page